The Cave Singers @ Music Hall of Williamsburg

03Apr11

Last Thursday, The Cave Singers performed a foot-stomping, hand-clapping set at the Music Hall of Williamsburg. I had seen The Cave Singers almost exactly two years ago and liked them when I saw them, but then they sort of fell off my radar.  But, luckily for me, the band played a mix of songs–many from their 2009 release Welcome Joy, and then some from their more recent album, No Witch, which was just released in February. So, as it turned out, I wasn’t all that far behind. The Seattle-based band is made up by three members, Pete Quirk, Derek Fudesco and Marty Lund, and they all looked like they were having a great time performing. I have a feeling they always look like that. Their songs are upbeat and involve maracas…and how can you not have fun when there are maracas involved?

The show opener was a performer I had never heard of before named Lia Ices. Clearly I am out of the loop because Lia Ices has already been featured on BriTunes, an online music series hosted by none other an NBC’s Nightly News anchor, Brian Williams. Just a couple of weeks ago I was in the audience when Brian Williams interviewed Newark mayor, Cory Booker, at an educational conference in NYC. Little did I know that he also sits down and chats with indie rock singers in his spare time.

Well, Brian knows how to pick ’em. Lia Ices had the crowd hooked on her lovely voice, which was backed by a three-member band. She sort of reminded me of Au Revoir Simone, but I think that’s just because of the keyboard and the female vocals. Lia Ices’ voice is much more airy and her songs have more depth to them.  Here’s a sample, it’s her “Little Marriage” off of Grown Unknown. And in case you were wondering, Brian Williams is completely hooked on it.

No Responses Yet to “The Cave Singers @ Music Hall of Williamsburg”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

