The Avett Brothers on Late Night

19Nov09

Check out this performance from The Avett Brothers on Late Night with Jimmy Fallon. The band plays “Slight Figure of Speech” off of You and I and Love.

ok, so the NBC video was removed from YouTube. But here’s the video for the song. The music starts around 3:05.

What did you expect
And what did you forget
That to live you let go of me with each step
It becomes a progression I won’t let regret manifest
To aggression
Are you to assess what I’ve been? What I am? Or become?
Did you stop to accept how pathetically dumb
It can be to
Attack those around ’cause you’re
True to color, a town, a time, or a place?
It’s not you, it’s not mine
And besides it is gone
And you never will find it again
But I don’t want to fight
I just ask let me be
I won’t give the chance to be my enemy
So go home
Think it through

For more about The Avett Brothers in concert, check out my review of their NYC show at Stuyvesant High School.

The Avett Brothers at Monolith Festival 2008

No Responses Yet to “The Avett Brothers on Late Night”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

