Frightened Rabbit @ Bowery Ballroom

18Jan09

img_0083

Frightened Rabbit may have their own idea of how to “keep yourself warm” (or not, as the case may be), but luckily I can tell you exactly how to keep yourself warm this winter: go to a sold out concert at Bowery Ballroom. Ok, it wasn’t like a sauna, but I had about one inch of free space around my entire body. Any sudden movement and I found myself basically resting my head on the shoulder of the guy in front of me (note to all tall concertgoing men/boys: do not stand in the front center, thanks).

After two opening bands, Frightened Rabbit played a lively set, featuring most of the songs on their album Midnight Organ Fight. Since all of their songs are great, I can’t say I was waiting for a favorite song. It was one good one after another. And the band seemed excited to be playing and lead singer Scott Hutchison thanked the fans for coming and “making them feel like a real band.” The set lasted only a little over an hour, but it didn’t seem short for some reason. The encore included “Keep Yourself Warm” and a cover of Neutral Milk Hotel’s “Song Against Sex.”

Some Highlights:

“Poke” was the lead singer solo acoustic song of the night. Hutchison was quickly able to silence the crowd, which was no easy task since they had been strangely chatty all night (unfortunately, opening performer David Karsten Daniels did not have as much luck). Anyway, as if they had rehearsed earlier, the crowd suddenly chimed in offering their oooh-ooh-ooh-ooh-ooooooooh’s, which left Hutchison pleasantly surprised. At least he wasn’t annoyed. At the end of the song he praised the audience for the best oooooooo’s he’s ever heard. Ha.

And, wow, there was some intensive drum action at the end of the set during “Square 9”, where the rest of the band members left the stage and Grant Hutchison went to town (yes, this is the technical term, look it up). I was surprised the drums were still intact when he finished.

img_0098

img_0092

img_0085

img_0094

6 Responses to “Frightened Rabbit @ Bowery Ballroom”

  1. I resent your remark about tall people. just because i’m tall, i’m not allowed to get myself front and center!?! when i go to a show i need to be in the middle of the floor (for equal acoustics) and i try to get as close as possible to the stage (for artist connection). if someone can’t see they can push their way forward to a better vantage point. or shorties could just get platform shoes.

  2. ok fine. really, it’s the tall people that show up two minutes before the band comes on and push their way to the front and block the view right at the last minute who annoy me. But I know, it’s every man/woman for him/herself.

  3. 3 ilya

    How do you feel, as a frequent concert goer, about people who talk during the sets? And not just between the songs, but during them. And not just in the back of the venue, but smack dab in the middle. And not quietly.

    Because I fucking hate it.

    Thoughts?

  4. yes, it bothers me. In fact, at this show there were two guys right in front of me who kept leaning over to one another throughout the entire show. They weren’t loud, but it kept messing with my view of the stage. And I was wondering what on Earth they were talking about. just listen to the music already!

  5. 5 Steven

    Saw Frightened Rabbit a few times in Scotland recently and they are a great band. Going to see them in Glasgow in two weeks time. Scott is a great performer and there is always good banter with the crowd.

    I also had the misfortune of people talking at one of their concerts. This guy was chatting to his mate all the way through one song. When he then proceeded to start chatting up a woman during the next I had had enough. I turned and said to him ‘if you want to talk all the way through the concert why don’t you do it at the back”. He looked at me as if I had two heads. I moved away so I didn’t have someone shouting in my ear.

    Great band though. ‘Mon the Rabbits!

  6. I realize this is a review from a while back, but I saw Frightened Rabbit at the Bowery last night, and I would have loved the show were it not for the group of people who were conversing loudly throughout most of the show. The thing that angers me the most about people like this is that even if you ask them politely to not talk quite so loudly, they usually act like you’re the one being rude. I don’t get it, and it seems to be getting worse these days.

    I also found the audience sing along to “Keep Yourself Warm” to be bizarre. Do women know what the line “you can’t find love in a hole” actually means?


Leave a Reply

