Will Sheff @ Other Music

11Dec08

pc100280

Will Sheff (of Okkervil River) played a short set at Other Music in NYC last night. It was kind of a preview of coming attractions as he is playing solo at the Music Hall of WIlliamsburg tonight.

Sheff was casual, bearded, and seemed pretty comfortable playing at the low-key show. He had only a guitar and a harmonica as he played a few of Okkervil River’s songs. They sounded really good stripped down. Sheff’s voice and guitar were very much able to carry the songs, and the audio set-up for the in-store show worked out well.

The set was short, but that’s to be expected. But he did play my favorites “Unless it Kicks” and “Lost Coastlines,” so I was happy. I guess the only downside of an in-store show is that there isn’t much of a stage, so viewing options were limited, as you can see in the following photo (where Sheff is pretty much hidden from view, well my view at least).

pc100277

But that was ok since the sound was so good. Other Music is a really cute record store, and it was decked out in festive holiday lights. I have to say that being at this show made me envious of the people who are going to see Sheff tonight. Since I’ll be at the Bon Iver show, I’ll have to miss it. But I can tell you that anyone who goes to the Music Hall of Williamsburg tonight is in for a good show. Enjoy, and let me know how it is.

pc100283

No Responses Yet to “Will Sheff @ Other Music”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

