The National and Bloc Party on “Gossip Girl”

08Dec08

It’s not like I needed another reason to watch “Gossip Girl,” but tonight’s episode made me think about a couple of albums that have gathered a bit of dust in my iTunes library. The show featured songs from Bloc Party (“Signs” from Intimacy) and The National (“Slow Show” from Boxer).

It’s been a while since I listened to Bloc Party. I caught them in concert at McCarren Park Pool after the release of Silent Alarm. It was a good album, but it was one of those situations where the concert seemed short because the band’s set list was drawn from just one album. They did have a bunch of great songs like “This Modern Love,” “Banquet,” and “Helicopter.” They’re tracks that can easily go from the dance floor to the treadmill. If these songs can inspire me to run, they will work for anyone. Two years later they released A Weekend in the City. I wasn’t as thrilled with the songs on that album, so Bloc Party sort of got pushed to the back burner. But after hearing “Signs” tonight on “Gossip Girl” I think I’ll be checking out the new album Intimacy, which was released at the end of October.

It was also a pleasant surprise to hear The National’s “Slow Show” since I haven’t listened to Boxer or Alligator in a while. The band’s show at the BAM Opera House was one of the best shows I’ve ever been to, so I think I always hesitate to listen to the album since it will never match up to the show. But enough time has passed now, so I think it’s safe to go back to the albums. “Fake Empire” never gets old, and “Slow Show” has some great lyrics like: You know I dreamed about you / for twenty-nine years before I saw you / You know I dreamed about you / I missed you for / for twenty-nine years.

For some reason, neither band was mentioned at the end of the episode as they promoted other bands featured in the show like Xu Xu Fang. But now you know.

xo xo
second doubles

No Responses Yet to “The National and Bloc Party on “Gossip Girl””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

